OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN
PRESIDENT
Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

RYAN RONCO Placer County

MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY Orange County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

TOMMY GONG Central Area San Luis Obispo County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

**voting member

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

JOHN MCKIBBEN** Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED**
Sacramento County
VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ
Riverside County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE**
Sacramento County
TRICIA WEBBER
Santa Cruz County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790

E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

March 20, 2017

Assembly Member Kevin Mullin State Capitol Building, Room 3160 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Assembly Member Mullin:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **AB 467**, your proposal relating to voter materials for proposed local transportation tax. AB 467 will offer the option to use online postings instead of printing in the voter information guide, yet still maintaining the option for voters to obtain a hard copy at no cost if requested.

Current law requires that transportation authorities make specific materials available to voters when a transportation tax is on the ballot. Under Public Utilities Code Section 180203(c), this included the full language of the ballot measure be printed in the sample ballot and the entire adopted transportation tax expenditure plan be printed in the county voter information guide. These plans are publicly available documents that are formally adopted by the transportation authority prior to the election.

In 2016, twelve counties had a local transportation tax on their ballot. Printing the transportation tax expenditure plan added as many as 30 pages to the county voter information guide resulting is costs ranging from \$18,000 to \$1.6 million dollars. For counties where the voters approved the tax, the printing costs can be deducted from the new revenue collected from the tax. For counties where the voters did not approve the tax, the cost was borne by the county general fund.

AB 467 offers an optional alternative that mirrors existing election laws allowing local measures to be posted online instead of printing in the voter information guide. AB 467 would provide voters complete access to the tax expenditure plans through an electronic means but also allow for the traditional method of a hardcopy being mailed.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.org or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at lavinej@saccounty.net or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

Tricia Webber

100 To 100

Siciallebber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

 Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.
 Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.
 Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee